Welcome to APA Louisiana

Our mission is to promote the practice of community and regional planning in Louisiana by enhancing the effectiveness of planners in impacting public policy. This mission will be carried out through:
Community Service - Provide informed and objective planning advice on issues that confront state and local government and build public and political support for responsible planning in Louisiana.
Member Services - Provide services to members to facilitate communications, networking and professional/citizen interchange.
Professionalism & Excellence - Promote excellence, professionalism and adherence to high ethical standards in the profession by offering programs and opportunities to build professional skills.

The American Planning Association Louisiana Chapter has a membership exceeding 375 persons., In addition to the Chapter officers listed below, each of the four Sections within the state also has officers. You will find their names and contact information on the corresponding Section page.

The Chapter recently updated our bylaws. A PDF version may be downloaded here. Documents such as agenda, minutes, budgets and related items pertinent to quarterly Executive Committee meetings may be found in this document repository: www.louisianaplanning.com/site/filedepot . Look under Chapter Files / Executive Committee Files/


Chapter Officers

The Executive Committee of the Louisiana Chapter of the American Planning Association is composed of:

Stephen VillavasoStephen Villavaso, JD, FAICP
Chapter President (2020 - 2022)

Stephen is CEO of Villavaso Associates providing planning and land use law consultation to Louisiana cities and parishes since 1992 and is an Adjunct Professor at the University of New Orleans. Dedicated to advancing the practice of planning for 40 years, Mr. Villavaso is now serving his third term as chapter president.

Whitney Hoffman SayalWhitney Hoffman Sayal, AICP
Chapter Vice President

Whitney is the Development Project Director for Baton Rouge's Downtown Development District. Ms. Sayal has served APA-LA as Chapter Secretary and also serves on several non-profit boards in Baton Rouge including a YMCA and the Historic Preservation Commission.

Melissa GuilbeauMelissa Guilbeau, AICP
Chapter Treasurer

Melissa is Planning Director for Slidell, having previously worked as a senior planner for Jefferson Parish and other out-of-state entities. Ms. Guilbeau served previously as APA-LA's chapter secretary.

Amelia PelegrinAmelia Pelegrin, AICP
Chapter Secretary

Amelia is chair of the City of Gretna's Planning & Zoning Commission and also Director of Sustainable Development for the Port of New Orleans.

Sean DalySean Daly, AICP
Membership Officer

Sean is a transportation planner with Iteris, Inc and a resident of Covington. Mr. Daly has previously served the chapter as Professional Development officer.

Adam BaileyAdam Bailey
Outreach & Advocacy Officer

Adam is a Special Projects Planner for the City of Shreveport's Metropolitan Planning Commission. Mr. Bailey has a background in landscape architecture.

Adam TatarAdam Tatar, AICP
Chapter Information Officer

Adam is a regional and transportation planner now with the New Orleans Regional Planning Commission. He previously worked for the Baton Rouge region's Capital Region Planning Commission.

Cheri SoileauCheri Soileau, AICP
Professional Development Officer

Cheri is Development Specialist of Strategic Projects for the Kisatchie-Delta Regional Planning & Development District. Ms. Soileau previously served as Director of IMCAL in southwest Louisiana.

Committee Chairs

In addition to the above Executive Committee, the following individuals are key to making the Chapter run by carrying out important roles.

photo of Joanne PoretJoanne C. Poret, AICP
Planning Commissioners Education Co-Chair

Joanne is the Planning & Zoning Director for the City of Monroe's Planning & Urban Development Department.

photo of Mart BlackMart Black, AICP
Planning Commissioners Education Co-Chair

A resident of Houma, Mart is Director of the Coastal Restoration and Preservation Department of Terrebonne Parish Consolidated Government.



The Executive Committee meets quarterly to manage chapter business and operation. The minutes, agenda and associated documents from these meetings are maintained by the Chapter Secretary in the Google Drive repository linked below.